Table of contents
1 What are proteins?
What functions do proteins perform in the body? Essential and non-essential amino acids
2 Protein-containing foods
3 Are all proteins the same?
4 How much protein does the body need per day?
5 The timing of protein intake: when does it work best?
For muscle building - sufficient protein is most important Against muscle loss - the same amount of protein with every meal
6 What happens to the body with a protein deficiency?
7 Proteins and sport
8 Conclusion

"How much protein does the body need and is there such a thing as too much?". If you want to eat healthily, it's easy to feel overwhelmed by the flood of different opinions, because no other nutrient is surrounded by as many myths as protein.

We unravel the mysteries and provide you with specific recommendations for action.

What are proteins?

Protein is a macronutrient that provides the body with energy, around 4 kcal per gram. However, in addition to their function as a source of energy, they also have other functions. The best known is their involvement in the formation of new cells.

The name protein is derived from the Greek proteios, which means fundamental. The assumption behind the name was that the basis of all proteins is the same substance. Although this is a misconception, it is not entirely wrong.

Proteins have common basic building blocks, the amino acids. A total of 20 amino acids are relevant for humans, with which all protein compounds in the body can be synthesized. They are divided into essential and non-essential. The former must be supplied to the body from outside1

What functions do proteins perform in the body?

Proteins appear in the body in various forms and fulfill numerous vital functions. These include, among others:

Cell building and repair

Proteins are fundamental building blocks in cell formation and maintenance. Required proteins and amino acids are regularly recycled by the body and used where they are needed. There is an increased need, for example, during pregnancy, illness, after an operation or during competitive sport.23

Initiation of reactions in the form of enzymes

Almost all enzymes in the body are proteins, e.g. lactase, which is responsible for the digestion of lactose. Enzymes act as catalysts and thereby reduce the activation energy required for biochemical processes4 Enzyme names are usually descriptive of function and contain the suffix -ase.

Communication by means of messenger substances in the form of hormones

Some hormones, such as insulin or glucagon, are based on proteins. The task of hormones is to transmit information as messenger substances and trigger certain bodily functions. For example, insulin signals that glucose should be absorbed from the blood into the cells.5

Scaffolds in tissues and cells as structural proteins

Looking at the structure of proteins, some are flexible, while others are quite rigid. Rigid structural proteins, such as keratin and collagen, ensure that body parts such as nails, bones or hair are stable.6 Elastin, on the other hand, provides the necessary elasticity for tissues such as the lungs or arteries.

pH regulation

Maintaining the pH value in various parts of the body at a certain level is necessary for our survival. There are buffer systems for this. One of these is hemoglobin, which gives blood its red color. It binds small amounts of acid and thus keeps the pH value in balance.7

Regulation of the fluid balance

The human body consists of about 70 percent water, so it is important that it is properly distributed. Proteins such as albumin and globulin help by maintaining osmotic pressure, among other things.8 If too little protein is eaten, these substances are produced less and the balance is disturbed.

Strengthening the immune system in the form of antibodies

Proteins also occur in the body as antibodies9 They act as bouncers and ensure that no uninvited guests such as viruses and bacteria enter the body. If they do enter, they are marked by the antibodies and phagocytes take over to eliminate them.

Nutrient transport and storage

Another function of proteins in the body is nutrient transport.10 Hemoglobin, for example, which is also responsible for pH regulation, is responsible for the transport of oxygen in the body. There are also proteins such as ferritin, which is necessary for the storage of iron in the cells.11

Energy supplier

Last but not least, proteins serve as a source of energy for the body. However, the body prefers to process fats and carbohydrates, which are metabolized more quickly and for which stores exist.12 Once these are used up, the skeletal muscles are broken down to produce energy.13

Essential and non-essential amino acids

Relevant for the human body are 20 amino acids, which are divided into essential and non-essential. In more recent publications, there is also talk of dispensable and indispensable amino acids.

There are 11 dispensable or non-essential amino acids, which can be produced by the body itself under normal conditions. These include: Alanine, arginine, asparagine, aspartic acid, cysteine, glutamine, glutamic acid, glycine, proline, serine and tyrosine.

On the other hand, there are the indispensable or essential amino acids. If they are not supplied to the body in sufficient quantities, deficiency symptoms can occur and body functions can be restricted. They are phenylalanine, threonine, tryptophan, valine, isoleucine, leucine, lysine, methionine and histidine.

Note to nerds and those who want to impress their fitness friends: A mnemonic for remembering the amino acids is the PheTTVILLM (fat film). This does not include histidine, as it is only essential in infants14

Protein-containing foods

To make your diet protein-rich, you should know how much protein is contained in food. Only foods in which at least 12% of the calories come from protein can be described as protein sources.

High protein content is only reserved for foods with a protein content of at least 20% of calories.15 You can rely on these two terms when shopping.

The following nutritional values come from Cronometer and the Nutrition Coordinating Center Food & Nutrient Database. In the calculation, 1 g of protein corresponds to 4.1 kcal.

Foodstuffs Protein content / 100 g Calories from protein
Egg, boiled 12,6 g 33 %
Chicken, cooked 30,5 g 83 %
Whole milk 3,2 g 22 %
Gouda 24,9 g 29 %
Walnuts 15,2 g 10 %
Tofu, hard 13,3 g 49 %
Lentils, cooked 9,0 g 32 %
Spinach, cooked 3,0 g 53 %
Zucchini, cooked 1,1 g 30 %
Chickpeas, cooked 8,9 g 22 %
Saturo Drink 25,0 g 21 %
Saturo Balanced Powder 30 g 25 %

Are all proteins the same?

Soy, whey, chickpeas, nuts, meat, eggs, kale, hemp. They all have protein in them, but are the proteins they contain all the same? In short: no. Not all types of protein are processed by the body in the same way or provide the same amino acids.

It is often stated that plant proteins do not have a complete amino acid profile, whereas animal proteins, such as whey protein, do. A combination of rice with beans, for example, is therefore recommended to balance out imbalances.

Some (plant-based) foods contain less of certain amino acids than others. However, when examining the nutrient content of different foods, it is noticeable that both plant and animal foods have a complete amino acid profile.1617

There is therefore no absolute necessity to combine plant-based foods - a balanced and varied diet is nevertheless recommended.

However, the digestibility of plant protein is somewhat poorer than that of animal protein. This means that the body is not as efficient at utilizing plant proteins and can make better use of animal protein.18

However, this does not make plant protein the worse protein, just slightly less efficient.

One reason why whey or whey protein is often taken as a dietary supplement is that it is quickly available to the body.19 Only rice protein can compete with whey in this respect.20

How much protein does the body need per day?

How high your daily protein requirement is depends very much on how active you are and what demands are placed on your body. As an average person, you need less than a pregnant woman or a bodybuilder or competitive athlete.

The German Nutrition Society states that adults should consume 0.8 g of protein per kg of body weight per day. For a person weighing 75 kg, this corresponds to around 60 g.

Children have a slightly higher requirement, at 0.9 g / kg body weight. This is due to the fact that children grow faster than adults.

Pregnant women should consume between 7 g (2nd trimester) and 21 g (3rd trimester) of additional protein daily, depending on the stage of pregnancy. The latter recommendation also applies to breastfeeding mothers.21

Amateur athletes should also consume more than 0.8 g of protein per kilogram of body weight. Studies have shown that an intake of 1.1 to 1.4 g protein / kg body weight achieves good results.22

The protein requirement is highest for competitive athletes. A supply of 1.6 to 2.2 g / kg body weight is described as effective, although there is no clear consensus in the scientific community.2324

The timing of protein intake: when does it work best?

For the average consumer who just wants to cover their energy and nutrient requirements, the timing of eating is not so important. It is more important to eat foods with a lot of protein, as protein is a nutrient with many functions in the body.

For muscle building - sufficient protein is most important

To build muscle, make sure you consume enough protein after training. However, it is not necessary to strictly adhere to a 15-minute window.

Recent studies have shown that up to 120 minutes after training, the ingested protein is effectively used for muscle building.27 And even this is only necessary at an advanced stage. For normal exercisers, it is more important that the total protein consumption is correct and that the exercises provide sufficient muscle stimulation.28

Against muscle loss - Equal amounts of protein with every meal

If muscle loss is to be prevented, an even intake of protein at all meals achieves the best results. As most people eat the most protein at lunch and dinner, a protein breakfast is therefore recommended.29

If you find it difficult to get the protein you need, you can SATURO can help. With 25 g of protein per 500 ml bottle, you have a complete supplement with a high protein content. The bars with 13 g protein are the ideal snack for in between meals.

What happens to the body with protein deficiency?

If there is an undersupply of protein, the body begins to cannibalize existing muscle tissue to supply itself with it. The decrease in muscle mass also reduces muscle function and strength.

This is one reason why it is particularly important for older people to ensure they have a sufficient protein intake. Failure to do so increases the risk of frailty and bone fractures.

If a deficiency persists over a longer period of time, even the existing muscle tissue can no longer provide sufficient amino acids. The result is an impairment of important metabolic functions.30

However, a protein deficiency is extremely rare in the western world with a diet that provides sufficient calories.31 However, it does occur in developing countries and especially on the African continent.

The disease kwashiorkor causes those affected to develop a bloated stomach. An undersupply of certain essential amino acids ensures that too few albumins are produced. As a result, the osmotic pressure cannot be maintained and tissue fluid from the abdomen is not reabsorbed.

Proteins and sport

Protein and sport go hand in hand. Proteins are needed to build up cells and are therefore also part of muscle mass. People who do sport generally want to build muscle and therefore focus on foods with a lot of protein.

This is a sensible approach, as athletes have a much higher requirement than a couch potato. But getting enough protein can be difficult in stressful everyday life. Protein shakes, especially after training, are therefore a good choice.

However, there is no need to worry and stress about eating straight after training. The potential muscle gains will not disappear. Consuming enough protein per day should be the main focus.

Conclusion

Protein is a vital nutrient that serves many more purposes than just muscle building. Among other things, it is a building block for hormones and enzymes and is used to transport nutrients.

The recommendation is 0.8 g / kg body weight for a normal adult, far more for amateur or extreme athletes and pregnant women. A deficiency is rare in the western world.

Proteins consist of essential and non-essential amino acids. Almost every food contains all essential amino acids, but they are not always evenly distributed.

If you want to build muscle, it's more important that you train hard enough and eat enough protein than when you eat it. To meet your nutrient and protein requirements even in stressful everyday life, the shakes and bars from SATURO.

FAQ: Frequently asked questions about protein and protein

How much protein is in Saturo contain?

At the SATURO meal replacement, around 21% of the calories come from protein, so there is a high protein content. The bar contains 13g of protein, the 500ml bottle contains 25g, the 330ml Tetra Pak contains 17g and the recommended amount of powder (110g) also contains 25g. The powder is available with soy protein or whey protein, both of which have a complete amino acid profile.

How much protein a day do I need if I don't exercise?

If you do not exercise and are neither pregnant nor breastfeeding, 0.8 g protein / kg body weight is sufficient. If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, the requirement increases by approx. 20 g per day.

Is it possible to eat too much protein?

There is an assumption that excessive protein consumption is bad for the kidneys, as they are overloaded by unutilized protein. While there may be problems for people with kidney problems, there is no danger for healthy people.

What is the difference between protein and egg white?

There is no difference between protein and egg white. Protein is simply the colloquial name for protein.

Collapsible content

Sources

  1. German Society for Nutrition e. Selected questions and answers about protein and essential amino acidsRetrieved 25 September 2020 by
  2. Genton, L., & Pichard, C. (2011). Protein catabolism and requirements in severe illnessInternational journal for vitamin and nutrition research. Journal international de vitaminologie et de nutrition, 81(2-3), 143-152.
  3. Kominiarek, M.A., & Rajan, P., (2016). Nutrition Recommendations in Pregnancy and LactationThe Medical clinics of North America, 100(6), 1199-1215.
  4. Cooper, M.A., (2000). The Cell A Molecular Approach (2nd edition). Sunderland (MA): Sinauer Associates
  5. Cooper, M.A., (2000). The Cell A Molecular Approach (2nd edition). Sunderland (MA): Sinauer Associates
  6. Berk, A., Zipursky, SL., et al (2000). Molecular Cell Biology (4th edition).New York: W.H.Freeman
  7. DocCheck Hemoglobin bufferRetrieved 25 September, 2020
  8. Hankins J (2006). The role of albumin in fluid and electrolyte balanceJournal of infusion nursing : the official publication of the Infusion Nurses Society, 29(5), 260-265.
  9. Li, P., Yin, Y. L., Li, D., Kim, S. W., & Wu, G. (2007). Amino acids and immune functionThe British journal of nutrition, 98(2), 237-252.
  10. Hashimoto, A., & Kambe, T. (2015). Mg, Zn and Cu Transport Proteins: A Brief Overview from Physiological and Molecular PerspectivesJournal of nutritional science and vitaminology, 61 Suppl, S116-S118.
  11. MacKenzie, E. L., Iwasaki, K., & Tsuji, Y. (2008). Intracellular iron transport and storage: from molecular mechanisms to health implicationsAntioxidants & redox signaling, 10(6), 997-1030.
  12. Rui L (2014). Energy metabolism in the liverComprehensive Physiology, 4(1), 177-197.
  13. Bell, R.A., Al-Khalaf, M., (2016). The beneficial role of proteolysis in skeletal muscle growth and stress adaptationSkeletal muscle, 6, 16.
  14. German Society for Nutrition e. Selected questions and answers about protein and essential amino acidsRetrieved 25 September 2020 by
  15. The European Parliament and the Council of the European Union (Dec 2006) Regulation (EC) No. 1924/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 20 December 2006 on nutrition and health claims on food.Annex
  16. Cronometer.com, Nutrition Coordinating Center Food & Nutrient Database, Comparison Food #455652, Food #456595, Food #465171, Food #464674
  17. James Smith, MS, DR. The Myth of Complementary ProteinRetrieved 4 June, 2020 
  18. Tomé, D. (2013). Digestibility issues of vegetable versus animal proteins: Protein and amino acid requirements - functional aspectsFood and Nutrition Bulletin, 34(2), 272 - 274
  19. Boirie, Y., Dangin, M., Gachon, P., Vasson, M. P., Maubois, J. L., & Beaufrère, B. (1997). Slow and fast dietary proteins differently modulate postprandial protein accretionProceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 94(26), 14930-14935.
  20. Purpura, M., Lowery R.P., Joy, J.M., De Souza, E.O., Kalman, D.S., Jäger, R., & Wilson, J.M., (2014). A comparison of blood amino acid concentrations following ingestion of rice and whey protein isloate: a double-blind crossover studyJournal of Nutrition and Health Sciences, 1(3), 306.
  21. Austrian Society for Nutrition ProteinRetrieved 25 September, 2020
  22. Volek, J.S., Volk, B.M., Gómez, A., Kunces, L.J., Kupchak, B.R., Freidenreich, D.J., I., I, I., I., I., I., I., I., I. Bruno, R.S., Ptolemy, A.S., Kellogg, M.D., ... Kraemer, W. J. (2013). Whey protein supplementation during resistance training augments lean body massJournal of the American College of Nutrition, 32(2), 122-135.
  23. Schoenfeld, B.J., & Aragon, A.A., (2018). How much protein can the body use in a single meal for muscle-building? Implications for daily protein distributionJournal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 15, 10.
  24. Phillips, S. M., & Van Loon, L. J. (2011). Dietary protein for athletes: from requirements to optimum adaptationJournal of sports sciences, 29 Suppl 1, S29-S38.
  25. Westerterp K. R. (2004). Diet induced thermogenesisNutrition & metabolism, 1(1), 5.
  26. Pesta, D., (2014). A high protein diet for reducing body fat: mechanisms and possible caveatsNutrition & metabolism, 11(1), 53.
  27. Kerksick, C. M., Arent, S., Schoenfeld, B. J., Stout, J. R., Campbell, B., Wilborn, C. D., Taylor, L. , Kalman, D. , Smith-Ryan, A. E., Kreider, R. M. Dusselt, M. Fuss, M. Ormo, N. Aragon, A., and Antonio, J., (2017). International society of sports nutrition position stand: nutrient timingJournal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 14, 33.
  28. Schoenfeld, B.J., Aragon, A.A., & Krieger, J.W., (2013). The effect of protein timing on muscle strength and hypertrophy: a meta-analysisJournal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 10(1), 53.
  29. Paddon-Jones, D., and Rasmussen, B. (2009). Dietary protein recommendations and the prevention of sarcopeniaCurrent opinion in clinical nutrition and metabolic care, 12(1), 86-90.
  30. German Society for Nutrition e. Selected questions and answers about protein and essential amino acidsRetrieved 25 September 2020 by
  31. Johansson G. (2018). Svårt att få brist på protein – för högt intag större risk - Lagom mängd mat – oavsett kosttyp – ger tillräckligt mycket [Protein deficiency - a rare nutrient deficiency]. Lakartidningen, 115, E6XS.
  32. Antonio, J., Ellerbroek, A., Silver, T., Vargas, L., Tamayo, A., Buehn, R., & Peacock, C. A. (2016). A High Protein Diet Has No Harmful Effects: A One-Year Crossover Study in Resistance-Trained MalesJournal of nutrition and metabolism, 2016, 9104792.

Protein – ein lebenswichtiger Nährstoff auch für dich

“Ohne Proteinshake ist das Training zwecklos!” und “Zu viel Eiweiß belastet die Nieren!” Um keinen Nährstoff ranken sich so viele Mythen wie um Protein.
Wir lüften die Geheimnisse und geben dir konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen an die Hand.

Lebensmittel mit einem hohen Anteil an Proteinen

Proteine gehören zu den drei Makronährstoffen, die für unseren Körper unabdingbar sind. Aufgrund der Wichtigkeit im Zusammenhang mit Muskelaufbau hat es auch die Eigenschaft, regelmäßig hitzige Debatten und Verwirrung auszulösen.

“Wie viel Protein braucht der Körper und gibt es ein Zuviel?” Derjenige, der sich gesund ernähren will, fühlt sich von der Flut an verschiedenen Meinungen leicht überwältigt – und tut nichts. Kennst du das Gefühl?

Wenn damit Schluss sein soll, du faktenbasierte Antworten suchst und ins Handeln kommen willst, ist dieser Artikel für dich.

Was sind Proteine?

Proteine, auch Eiweiße genannt, gehören zu den Makronährstoffen, die den Körper mit Energie versorgen, etwa 4 kcal pro Gramm. Neben der Funktion als Energielieferant haben sie jedoch noch weitere Funktionen. Am bekanntesten ist die Beteiligung an der Bildung von neuen Zellen.

Der Name Protein leitet sich vom griechischen proteios ab, welches für grundlegend steht. Die Annahme für die Namensgebung war, dass die Basis aller Proteine dieselbe Substanz ist. Das ist zwar ein Irrtum, doch nicht vollkommen falsch.

Denn Proteine haben gemeinsame Grundbausteine, die Aminosäuren. Für den Menschen sind insgesamt 20 Aminosäuren relevant, mit denen alle Proteinverbindungen im Körper synthetisiert werden können. Sie werden unterschieden in essentielle und nicht-essentielle. Erstere müssen dem Körper von außen zugeführt werden.[1]

Welche Funktionen erfüllen Proteine im Körper?

Proteine erscheinen im Körper in verschiedenen Formen und erfüllen zahlreiche lebenswichtige Funktionen. Dazu gehören unter anderem:

Zellaufbau und -reparatur

Proteine sind elementare Bausteine bei der Zellbildung und Instandhaltung. Benötigte Proteine bzw. Aminosäuren werden vom Körper regelmäßig recycelt und da verwendet, wo sie benötigt werden. Ein erhöhter Bedarf besteht bspw. bei einer Schwangerschaft, Krankheit, nach einer Operation oder bei Leistungssport.[2][3]

Einleitung von Reaktionen in Form von Enzymen

Fast alle Enzyme im Körper sind Proteine, z.B. Lactase, das für die Verdauung von Lactose zuständig ist. Enzyme fungieren als Katalysatoren und setzen dadurch die benötigte Aktivierungsenergie für biochemische Prozesse herab.[4] Enzymnamen sind in der Regel funktionsbeschreibend und enthalten die Endung -ase.

Kommunikation mittels Botenstoffen in Form von Hormonen

Manche Hormone, wie Insulin oder Glucagon, basieren auf Proteinen. Die Aufgabe von Hormonen ist es, als Botenstoffe Informationen zu übertragen und gewisse Körperfunktionen auszulösen. So signalisiert Insulin, dass Glucose vom Blut in die Zellen aufgenommen werden soll.[5]

Gerüststoffe in Geweben und Zellen als Strukturprotein

Betrachtet man die Struktur der Proteine, so sind manche flexibel, andere jedoch recht starr. Starre Strukturproteine, wie Keratin und Collagen sorgen dafür, dass Körperteile wie Nägel, Knochen oder Haare stabil sind.[6] Elastin hingegen sorgt für die benötigte Elastizität des Gewebes, etwa bei den Lungen oder den Arterien.

pH Regulation

Den pH-Wert im Körper in verschiedenen Körperregionen auf einem bestimmten Niveau zu halten, ist notwendig für unser Überleben. Dafür gibt es Puffersysteme. Eines davon ist Hämoglobin, welches Blut seine rote Farbe verleiht. Es bindet geringe Säuremengen und hält so den pH-Wert im Gleichgewicht.[7]

Regulation des Flüssigkeitshaushaltes

Der menschliche Körper besteht zu etwa 70 Prozent aus Wasser, da ist es wichtig, dass es richtig verteilt ist. Proteine wie Albumin und Globulin helfen, indem sie unter anderem den osmotischen Druck aufrechterhalten.[8] Wird zu wenig Eiweiß gegessen, werden diese Stoffe weniger produziert und das Gleichgewicht gestört.

Stärkung des Immunsystems in Form von Antikörpern

Proteine kommen im Körper auch als Antikörper vor.[9] Sie agieren als Türsteher und passen darauf auf, dass keine ungebetenen Gäste wie Viren und Bakterien in den Körper eindringen. Sollten Sie doch eindringen, dann werden sie durch die Antikörper markiert und Fresszellen übernehmen die Beseitigung.

Nährstofftransport und -speicher

Eine weitere Funktion von Proteinen im Körper ist der Nährstofftransport.[10] So ist Hämoglobin, welches ebenfalls für die pH-Regulation mitverantwortlich ist, für den Transport von Sauerstoff im Körper zuständig. Genauso gibt es Proteine wie Ferritin, welches für die Speicherung von Eisen in den Zellen vonnöten ist.[11]

Energielieferant

Nicht zuletzt dienen Proteine als Energiequelle für den Körper. Vorzugsweise verarbeitet der Körper jedoch Fette und Kohlenhydrate, welche schneller verstoffwechselt werden und wofür Speicher bestehen.[12] Sind diese verbraucht, wird die Skelettmuskulatur zur Energiegewinnung zersetzt.[13]

Essentielle und nicht-essentielle Aminosäuren

Relevant für den menschlichen Körper sind 20 Aminosäuren, welche unterschieden werden in essentielle und nicht-essentielle. In neueren Publikationen ist auch die Rede von entbehrlichen und unentbehrlichen Aminosäuren.

Es gibt 11 entbehrliche oder nicht-essentielle Aminosäuren, welche vom Körper unter Normalbedingungen selbst hergestellt werden können. Dazu gehören: Alanin, Arginin, Asparagin, Asparaginsäure, Cystein, Glutamin, Glutaminsäure, Glycin, Prolin, Serin und Tyrosin.

Auf der anderen Seite stehen die unentbehrlichen oder essentiellen Aminosäuren. Werden sie nicht in ausreichendem Maße dem Körper zugeführt, kann es zu Mangelerscheinungen kommen und Körperfunktionen eingeschränkt werden. Sie sind Phenylalanin, Threonin, Tryptophan, Valin, Isoleucin, Leucin, Lysin, Methionin und Histidin.

Anmerkung für Nerds und jene, die ihre Fitnessfreunde beeindrucken wollen: Eine Eselsbrücke zum Merken der Aminosäuren ist der PheTTVILLM (Fettfilm). Histidin ist dabei nicht inbegriffen, da es nur im Säuglingsstadium essentiell ist.[14]

Eiweißhaltige Lebensmittel

Damit du deine Ernährung eiweißreich gestalten kannst solltest du wissen, wie viel Proteine in Lebensmitteln enthalten sind. Als Proteinquelle dürfen dabei nur Lebensmittel bezeichnet werden, bei denen mindestens 12 % der Kalorien aus Protein stammen.

Hoher Proteingehalt ist sogar nur den Lebensmitteln mit einem Proteinanteil von mindestens 20 % der Kalorien vorenthalten.[15] Beim Einkaufen kannst du auf diese beiden Begriffe vertrauen.

Die nachfolgenden Nährwerte stammen von Cronometer und der Nutrition Coordinating Center Food & Nutrient Database. Bei der Berechnung entspricht 1 g Eiweiß 4,1 kcal.

LebensmittelEiweißgehalt / 100 gKalorien aus Eiweiß
Ei, gekocht12,6 g33 %
Hühnchen, gekocht30,5 g83 %
Vollmilch3,2 g22 %
Gouda24,9 g29 %
Walnüsse15,2 g10 %
Tofu, hart13,3 g49 %
Linsen, gekocht9,0 g32 %
Spinat, gekocht3,0 g53 %
Zucchini, gekocht 1,1 g30 %
Kichererbsen, gekocht8,9 g22 %
SATURO Riegel13,0 g21 %
SATURO 500 ml Getränk25,0 g21 %

Sind alle Proteine gleich?

Soja, Whey, Kichererbsen, Nüsse, Fleisch, Eier, Grünkohl, Hanf. Sie alle haben Proteine in sich, doch sind die enthaltenen Proteine alle gleichwertig? Kurz: Nein. Nicht alle Proteinarten werden vom Körper gleich verarbeitet oder liefern die gleichen Aminosäuren.

Häufig ist zu lesen, dass pflanzliche Proteine kein vollständiges Aminosäurenprofil haben, tierische Proteine, wie Whey Protein, jedoch schon. Eine Kombination von bspw. Reis mit Bohnen wird deshalb empfohlen, um Ungleichgewichte auszubalancieren.

Manche (pflanzliche) Lebensmittel enthalten durchaus weniger von bestimmten Aminosäuren als von anderen. Bei der Untersuchung der Nährstoffgehalte verschiedener Lebensmittel fällt jedoch auf, dass sowohl pflanzliche als auch tierische Lebensmittel über ein vollständiges Aminosäurenprofil verfügen.[16][17]

Es besteht also keine absolute Notwendigkeit, pflanzliche Lebensmittel zu kombinieren – eine ausgewogene und abwechslungsreiche Ernährung empfiehlt sich nichtsdestotrotz.

Allerdings ist die Verdaulichkeit von pflanzlichem Protein etwas schlechter als die von tierischem Protein. Das bedeutet, dass der Körper bei der Verwertung der pflanzlichen Proteine nicht so effizient ist und tierisches Eiweiß besser verwenden kann.[18]

Pflanzliches Eiweiß ist dadurch jedoch nicht das schlechtere Eiweiß, sondern lediglich etwas ineffizienter.

Ein Grund weswegen Molken- bzw. Wheyprotein gerne als Nahrungsergänzung genommen wird, ist die schnelle Verfügbarkeit für den Körper.[19] Nur Reisprotein macht dem Whey in dieser Hinsicht Konkurrenz.[20]

Wie viel Eiweiß am Tag braucht der Körper?

Wie hoch dein täglicher Bedarf an Eiweiß ist, hängt sehr stark damit zusammen, wie aktiv du bist und welche Anforderungen an deinen Körper gestellt werden. Als Otto Normalbürger benötigst du weniger, als eine Schwangere oder ein Bodybuilder bzw. Leistungssportler.

Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung gibt an, dass Erwachsene täglich 0,8 g Protein pro kg Körpergewicht zu sich nehmen sollten. Bei einer Person mit einem Gewicht von 75 kg entspricht das etwa 60 g.

Kinder haben einen leicht erhöhten Bedarf, mit 0,9 g / kg Körpergewicht. Dies fußt auf der Tatsache, dass bei Kindern ein stärkeres Wachstum stattfindet als bei Erwachsenen.

Schwangere sollten täglich, abhängig von dem Stadium der Schwangerschaft, zwischen 7 g (2. Trimester) und 21 g (3. Trimester) zusätzliches Eiweiß zu sich nehmen. Letztere Empfehlung gilt auch für stillende Mütter.[21]

Mehr als 0,8 g Protein pro Kilogramm Körpergewicht sollten außerdem Hobbysportler konsumieren. Studien haben gezeigt, dass eine Einnahme von 1,1 bis 1,4 g Eiweiß / kg Körpergewicht gute Ergebnisse erzielt.[22]

Am höchsten ist der Proteinbedarf für Leistungssportler. Eine Versorgung mit 1,6 bis 2,2 g / kg Körpergewicht wird als effektiv bezeichnet, ein eindeutiger Konsens in der Wissenschaft besteht allerdings nicht.[23][24]

Der Zeitpunkt der Proteinaufnahme – wann wirkt es am besten?

Für den Normalverbraucher, der nur seinen Energie- und Nährstoffbedarf decken möchte, ist der Zeitpunkt des Essens nicht so wichtig. Wichtiger ist es, Lebensmittel mit viel Eiweiß zu essen, da Eiweiß ein Nährstoff mit vielen Funktionen im Körper ist.

Zum Abnehmen – Snacks zwischendurch bringen Ergebnisse

Anders sieht es aus, wenn Gewichtsverlust das Ziel ist. Eine High-Protein-Ernährung kann einen großen Teil dazu beitragen, dass sich der Stoffwechsel erhöht und der Appetit gedämpft wird.[25]

Dieser Effekt vollzieht sich, da die Ausschüttung des Hungerhormons Ghrelin verringert und gleichzeitig andere Hormone, die den Appetit verringern, vermehrt ausgeschüttet werden.[26] Es empfiehlt sich deshalb, zwischen den Mahlzeiten einen Protein-Snack zu essen, um das Hungergefühl zu verringern.

Für den Muskelaufbau – ausreichend Proteine sind am wichtigsten

Für den Muskelaufbau sollte nach dem Training auf eine ausreichende Proteinzufuhr geachtet werden. Dabei muss sich jedoch nicht strikt an ein 15 Minuten Fenster gehalten werden.

Neuere Studien haben gezeigt, dass bis zu 120 Minuten nach dem Training das aufgenommene Eiweiß effektiv für den Muskelaufbau verwendet wird.[27] Und selbst das ist erst im fortgeschrittenen Stadium notwendig. Für Normaltrainierende ist es wichtiger, dass der Gesamtproteinverzehr stimmt und die Übungen genügend Muskelreize setzen.[28]

Gegen Muskelabbau – Gleich viel Protein zu jeder Mahlzeit

Soll Muskelabbau verhindert werden, erzielt eine gleichmäßige Aufnahme von Eiweiß zu allen Mahlzeiten die besten Ergebnisse. Da die meisten Menschen am meisten Eiweiß zum Mittag- und Abendessen zu sich nehmen, ist daher ein Protein Frühstück anzuraten.[29]

Falls es schwerfällt, auf die benötigten Proteine zu kommen, kann SATURO helfen. Mit 25 g Eiweiß pro 500 ml Flasche hast du eine vollwertige Ergänzung mit hohem Proteingehalt. Die Riegel mit 13 g Protein sind dabei der ideale Sattmach-Snack für zwischendurch.

Was passiert mit dem Körper bei Proteinmangel?

Bei einer Unterversorgung mit Proteinen geht der Körper dazu über, vorhandenes Muskelgewebe zu kannibalisieren und sich damit zu versorgen. Durch die Abnahme der Muskelmasse verringert sich damit einhergehend auch die Muskelfunktion bzw. Kraft.

Das ist ein Grund, weshalb es gerade bei älteren Menschen wichtig ist, auf eine ausreichende Zufuhr von Eiweiß zu achten. Geschieht dies nicht, erhöht sich das Risiko für Gebrechlichkeit und Knochenbrüchen.

Sollte ein Mangel über längere Zeit fortbestehen, dann kann selbst das vorhandene Muskelgewebe nicht mehr genügend Aminosäuren stellen. Die Folge ist eine Beeinträchtigung von wichtigen Stoffwechselfunktionen.[30]

Ein Eiweißmangel ist jedoch bei einer Ernährungsweise, die ausreichend Kalorien zur Verfügung stellt, in der westlichen Welt extrem selten.[31] Es gibt sie jedoch in Entwicklungsländern und vor allem auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent.

Die Krankheit Kwashiorkor sorgt dafür, dass Betroffene einen Blähbauch bekommen. Eine Unterversorgung mit gewissen essentiellen Aminosäuren sorgt dafür, dass zu wenig Albumine produziert werden. Dadurch kann der osmotische Druck nicht aufrechterhalten werden und Gewebsflüssigkeit aus dem Bauch wird nicht wieder aufgenommen.

Proteine und Sport

Eiweiß und Sport gehen Hand in Hand. Proteine werden benötigt, um die Zellen aufzubauen und sind somit auch Teil der Muskelmasse. Wer Sport treibt, möchte in der Regel Muskeln aufbauen und fokussiert sich deshalb auf Lebensmittel mit viel Protein.

Das ist eine sinnvolle Herangehensweise, denn Sportler haben einen weitaus höheren Bedarf, als eine Couchpotato. Doch genügend Eiweiß zu sich zu nehmen kann im stressigen Alltag schwerfallen. Protein Shakes, insbesondere nach dem Training sind daher eine gute Wahl.

Es ist jedoch kein Kopfzerbrechen und Stress darüber vonnöten, dass direkt nach dem Training gegessen werden muss. Die potenziellen Muskelzuwächse verschwinden nicht. Der Konsum von ausreichend Proteinen pro Tag sollte Hauptaugenmerk sein.

Fazit

Protein ist ein lebenswichtiger Nährstoff, der weit mehr Zwecke erfüllt als nur den Muskelaufbau. Er ist unter anderem Baustein für Hormone, Enzyme und dient als Nährstofftransport.

Die Empfehlung lautet 0,8 g / kg Körpergewicht für einen normalen Erwachsenen, weitaus mehr für Hobby- oder Extremsportler und Schwangere. Eine Unterversorgung ist in der westlichen Welt selten.

Proteine bestehen aus essentiellen und nicht-essentiellen Aminosäuren. In nahezu jedem Lebensmittel sind alle essentielle Aminosäuren enthalten, jedoch nicht immer gleichmäßig verteilt.

Wenn du Muskeln aufbauen möchtest, ist es wichtiger, dass du hart genug trainierst und genügend Proteine isst, anstatt wann du sie isst. Um deinen Nährstoff- und Proteinbedarf auch im stressigen Alltag zu decken, helfen dir die Shakes und Riegel von SATURO.

FAQ: Häufig gestellte Fragen zu Eiweiß und Protein