Table of contents
1 Healthy and balanced
2 The calorific value: from kilocalories and kilojoules
The basal metabolic rate The power metabolic rate The total metabolic rate
3 Macronutrients
Protein Fats Carbohydrates Dietary fiber
4 Micronutrients
Vitamins minerals
5 Water
6 The general principles of a healthy diet

Healthy and balanced

Healthy eating is in vogue and that's a good thing. After all, our balanced diet plays a major role in our well-being and who wants to feel bad. There are therefore countless sources on the Internet, all of which claim to be the only way. However, there is no one true way.

This nutrition guide is intended to help clarify the most important terms so that you can get an overview for yourself. Have you ever asked yourself: "What are calories anyway?" "Is fat in food the same as fat in the body?" and "Which nutrients do I really need?"

Then read on if you want to learn the basics of healthy eating.

The calorific value: from kilocalories and kilojoules

Even though we are constantly told how important vitamins, proteins and minerals are, the primary purpose of food intake is to provide energy. Because without energy from food, you feel listless and everything is difficult.

In common parlance, the energy contained in food is expressed in calories. In reality, however, these are kilocalories, which is why the nutritional value tables for foods also show kcal.

1 calorie is the energy required to heat 1 gram of water by 1 degree Celsius. One kilocalorie is therefore 1 kilogram of water. However, this unit is imprecise due to different definitions.

For a more precise definition, the energy content of a food is given in joules or kilojoules. This is the international unit of energy. One joule corresponds to 0.239 cal and one calorie corresponds to 4.184 J. 

In many nutritional tables, in addition to the energy content per 100 g, there is also a percentage figure. This refers to a daily energy requirement of 2000 kcal 1.

However, each person's daily energy requirement is different. It depends, among other things, on height, age, activity and gender. Below is an explanation of how it is normally calculated.

The basal metabolic rate

The basal metabolic rate is the energy required by the body to carry out the most important bodily functions. These include, for example, breathing, regulating body temperature and digestion. Even if you were to lie in bed all day, you would need energy for these processes.

It is often referred to in the literature as the basal metabolic rate (BMR). The basal metabolic rate is approximately 4 kJ (1 kcal) per hour and kilogram of body weight.2

The power metabolic rate

This includes all the energy consumed through daily activities. For example, work or sporting activities. The more active you are, the more energy your body needs.

In English it is called Active Metabolic Rate, abbreviated to AMR. The PAL (Physical Activity Level) value, which reflects the physical activity level, is required to calculate the power metabolic rate. You can read more about PAL here.

The total metabolic rate

The total turnover can then be calculated by adding the basic and performance turnover together. However, the exact calculation of the basal metabolic rate and energy expenditure is somewhat more complicated, which is why the use of a online calorie calculator is recommended.

The total metabolic rate can be used to determine how much food is needed each day. In order to maintain your weight, you need to cover your calorie requirements. If you want to lose weight, you should consume fewer calories than you need, and vice versa if you want to gain weight.

As a rule of thumb, 1 kg of body fat corresponds to approximately 9000 kcal3. If the goal is a weight loss of 10 kg, then this is theoretically achieved after six months with a reduced energy intake of 500 kcal per day.

Macronutrients

Macronutrients are nutrients that must be supplied to the body in large quantities as energy sources. These include fats, proteins, carbohydrates and fiber.

Protein

There is probably no other nutrient that is the subject of so many myths as proteins, also known colloquially as egg whites. Especially when it comes to the daily requirement, there are many different statements. So what is true?

The fact is, proteins are very important for the body. They serve as the basic building blocks of our cells and act as enzymes. They are also needed for the immune system's defense against infections and transport water-insoluble nutrients in the blood.4

The energy content is 4 kcal per gram of protein. The building blocks that make up proteins are called amino acids, of which a total of 20 are required by the body to build protein. However, only nine are essential for the body as it cannot produce them itself.

A distinction is often made between complete and incomplete protein sources. This means that incomplete protein sources do not provide the 9 essential amino acids.

However, a closer look at the protein content of various foods reveals that almost all foods always have a complete amino acid profile with all 9 essential amino acids.6,7

Proteins play a key role in muscle building. This is precisely the sticking point that repeatedly leads to different statements about protein requirements

How much protein do I need?

The German Nutrition Society recommends a daily requirement of 0.8 g protein/kg body weight for a normal adult.8 This corresponds to approx. 60 g for a body weight of 75 kg.

Amateur athletes who want to build muscle have a higher protein requirement. Here the recommendations of international organizations are 1.1 g - 1.4 g / kg body weight9. That would be between 90 and 105 g of protein at 75 kg body weight.

For athletes and professional sportspeople, the figures are even higher, but there is no clear scientific consensus. Recommendations range from 1.6 g / kg body weight to 2.2 g.10, 11 At 75 kg body weight, this would be 120 - 165 g of protein. 

You can be sure that our Saturo drinks provide you with enough protein for one meal.

Fats

Fats are necessary for the body because they are part of cell membranes and provide the body with energy. The body also needs the fatty acids they contain. Fat is also important for supplying the body with the fat-soluble vitamins A, D, E and K.

Fat is the macronutrient with the highest energy content of 9 kcal per gram. This is why excessive fat consumption quickly leads to weight gain.

The fatty acids in fat are divided into saturated, unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. The degree of saturation indicates how many double bonds are present between the carbon atoms of the molecule. If there are no double bonds, it is referred to as a saturated fatty acid.

Only polyunsaturated fatty acids are essential for us. These include omega-6 and omega-3, which support the body in inflammatory processes and in building cell membranes, for example. As the body cannot produce them itself, they must be obtained from food.

As these two fatty acids act as antagonists in many respects, you should ensure an adequate ratio of the two in your diet. Recommendations range from 1:3 to 1:6 (omega 3:omega 6).12

Carbohydrates

Carbohydrates are considered the most important sources of energy in the body. They have an energy content of 4 kcal per gram and are therefore on a par with proteins. However, 50% or more of the energy content of our diet should come from carbohydrates.13, 14

In principle, carbohydrates are always a series of sugar molecules and are therefore also called saccharides. A distinction is generally made between mono-, di- and polysaccharides. In order for the body to be able to use carbohydrates, they must first be broken down into simple sugars in the intestine.

Simple sugars (monosaccharides)

The best-known representatives here are glucose (dextrose) and fructose (fruit sugar). They are quickly absorbed by the body and are available as energy in a very short time, but also raise blood sugar levels quickly. They have a sweet taste.

Dual sugars (disaccharides)

These include maltose (malt sugar) and lactose (milk sugar). They also taste sweet. However, the body needs a little longer until they are available as energy. As a result, the increase in blood sugar is somewhat slower.

Multiple sugars (polysaccharides)

The most important polysaccharide is starch. It is rather tasteless in itself and due to the longer chain length, the body needs longer to break it down. For this reason, polysaccharides cause blood sugar levels to rise slowly.

Dietary fiber

Dietary fibers are indigestible food components that play an important role in digestion. They are assigned an energy content of 2 kcal per gram.

They are divided into water-soluble and water-insoluble dietary fibers. Water-insoluble fiber absorbs little water, but is not broken down by the bacteria in the intestine, which greatly increases the volume of stool.

Water-soluble fiber, on the other hand, binds a lot of water and is broken down by the bacteria in the large intestine. This makes the stool softer, but still increases in volume.

Some water-soluble fibers also act as prebiotics. This means that they serve as food for the intestinal bacteria and thus stimulate the growth of beneficial bacteria in the intestine.

Micronutrients

Micronutrients are essential for the body, but they are needed in smaller quantities than macronutrients and do not provide the body with energy. Micronutrients include vitamins and minerals. 

Vitamins

The body needs vitamins from food as it cannot produce them itself. The only exception is vitamin D, which can be synthesized through the skin. They play a major role in many bodily functions, such as the immune system or energy production. 

Vitamins are often very susceptible to certain preparation methods. For example, too high temperatures can destroy the vitamin C in food. They are divided into water-soluble and fat-soluble vitamins.

Water-soluble vitamins

  • Vitamin B1
  • Vitamin B2
  • Vitamin B3
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • biotin
  • Folic acid
  • vitamin C

They can always be easily absorbed by the body and any excess is simply excreted via the kidneys. 

Fat-soluble vitamins

  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin D
  • Vitamin E
  • Vitamin K

Their absorption in the intestine is improved when they are ingested with fatty foods. An excess of them is not simply excreted by the body. They are much more likely to accumulate, which is why caution is advised when supplementing with these vitamins.

Minerals

Just like vitamins, the body cannot produce minerals itself. However, unlike vitamins, minerals are less susceptible to being destroyed by preparation. Minerals are needed, for example, for bone formation or blood formation.

They are divided into bulk and trace elements. This depends on how high the daily requirement of the respective nutrient is.

Bulk elements

  • Calcium
  • magnesium
  • chlorine
  • potassium
  • phosphorus
  • Sodium
  • Sulphur

They are required by the body in relatively high quantities, in the three- to four-digit milligram range. The daily requirement for calcium is 900 - 1000 mg15and 300 - 400 mg for magnesium.16

Trace elements

  • Zinc
  • Iron
  • iodine
  • manganese
  • selenium
  • chromium
  • Copper
  • Molybdenum
  • Cobalt
  • silicon

The daily requirement for trace elements can be covered by a dose in the two-digit milligram or even microgram range. The daily recommendation for iron is 10 - 15 mg17and for iodine only 180 - 200 µg.18

You are now well informed about the importance of micronutrients for a balanced diet. But we all know how challenging it can be to get all the essential vitamins and minerals every day. With Saturo Drinks ensure you have a complete and convenient nutrient supply - perfect for your balanced nutritional routine. Don't underestimate the effects of a deficient supply and take control of your nutritional intake!

Water

Water is essential for life, and life without it is unimaginable. It is said that humans can go three weeks without food, but only three days without water. And yet many nutrition guides only ever talk about food.

Yet water is the most important "nutrient". Although it is not a nutrient in the true sense of the word, it is essential for almost all bodily functions. Some of the functions for which the body needs water are

  • Maintaining body temperature
  • Burning body fat
  • Digestive aids
  • Lubricates joints and embeds organs
  • Nutrient transport
  • Toxin excretion

The daily water requirement of an adult is around 1.5 liters19. This should be consumed throughout the day to protect the body from dehydration. All those who feel little thirst should pay particular attention to keeping to this.

Under certain circumstances, however, the body has an increased need for water. For example, in extreme heat, extreme cold or illnesses such as fever, vomiting or diarrhea. Strenuous work or sport can also increase the need for fluids. 

An additional 0.5 - 1 liter of water per hour may then be necessary. In healthy people, too much water is excreted via the kidneys and does not cause any damage.

Not a water drinker? Unsweetened fruit and herbal teas, flavored water or diluted juice spritzers (1:3) are also suitable to compensate for the body's water loss.

The general principles of a healthy diet

  • Your body can only get all the vitamins and minerals (micronutrients) it needs from a varied diet.
  • The daily requirement of protein for a normal adult is 0.8 g protein/kg body weight and for amateur athletes between 90 and 105 g at 75 kg.
  • There is no one right way to eat. But there is the right one for you.
  • Drink at least 1.5 liters of water or unsweetened drinks every day to keep your body hydrated

FAQ - Frequently asked questions about the basics of nutrition

How much salt does the body need?

In chemical terms, table salt is sodium chloride, but the body needs sodium and chlorine. The guideline value for daily intake is 1500 mg for sodium and 2300 mg for chloride. As table salt is usually 40 % sodium and 60 % chloride, the guideline values correspond to just under 4 g of table salt or just under a level teaspoon.

However, fruit and vegetables also contain sodium, which is why an additional intake is not usually necessary.

Is fat in food the same as fat in the body?

No, the processes are not that simple. Excess fat in the body is due to an excessively high energy content in food. However, fat is the nutrient with the highest energy content per gram. This means that even small amounts of fatty foods contain a lot of calories and the daily energy requirement can easily be exceeded.

What are phytochemicals?

Secondary plant substances are substances that occur in plants and are not essential for the body. However, they have an influence on a variety of metabolic processes, for example through an anti-inflammatory effect. Some well-known secondary plant substances are chlorophyll (green leafy vegetables), phytoestrogens (soy) and carotenoids (carrots, tomatoes).

What role do enzymes play in our body?

Enzymes are proteins that are involved in metabolic processes. They act as catalysts and thereby reduce the activation energy required for a chemical process. You can always recognize the name of an enzyme by the suffix -ase.

What are probiotics?

The text has already mentioned prebiotics, which are nutrients for the bacteria in the gut. Probiotics, on the other hand, are the helpful bacteria themselves. Yoghurt cultures are probiotic, as are the bacteria in raw sauerkraut. The name is derived from pro (for) and bio (life).

Collapsible content

Sources

  1. Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V. (October 2007) Statement of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V. on the use of "Guideline Daily Amounts" (GDA) in the voluntary labeling of processed foods 
  2. McMurray, R. G., Soares, J., Caspersen, C. J., & McCurdy, T. (2014). Examining variations of resting metabolic rate of adults: a public health perspective. Medicine and science in sports and exercise, 46(7), 1352-1358.
  3. Dr. Groeneveld, M. Energy content of fat: 7000 kcal vs 9000 kcal. Retrieved June 4, 2020 from  
  4. Hamburg education server. Structure and function of proteins. Retrieved June 4, 2020 from
  5. German Society for Nutrition e. V. Selected questions and answers on protein and essential amino acids. Retrieved June 4, 2020 from  
  6. Cronometer.com, Nutrition Coordinating Center Food & Nutrient Database, compare Food #455652, Food #456595, Food #465171, Food #464674
  7. Novick, J. MS, DR. The Myth of Complementary Protein. Retrieved June 4, 2020 from 
  8. German Society for Nutrition e. V. How much protein do we need? Retrieved June 4, 2020 from 
  9. Volek, J. S., Volk, B. M., Gómez, A. L., Kunces, L. J., Kupchak, B. R., Freidenreich, D. J., Aristizabal, J. C., Saenz, C., Dunn-Lewis, C., Ballard, K. D., Quann, E. E., Kawiecki, D. L., Flanagan, S. D., Comstock, B. A., Fragala, M. S., Earp, J. E., Fernandez, M. L., Bruno, R. S., Ptolemy, A. S., Kellogg, M. D., ... Kraemer, W. J. (2013). Whey protein supplementation during resistance training augments lean body mass. Journal of the American College of Nutrition, 32(2), 122-135.
  10. Schoenfeld, B. J., & Aragon, A. A. (2018). How much protein can the body use in a single meal for muscle-building? Implications for daily protein distribution. Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 15, 10.
  11. Phillips, S. M., & Van Loon, L. J. (2011). Dietary protein for athletes: from requirements to optimum adaptation. Journal of sports sciences, 29 Suppl 1, S29-S38.
  12. German Society for Nutrition e. V. Move more and reduce fat intake. Retrieved June 4, 2020 from 
  13. German Society for Nutrition e. V. Carbohydrates, dietary fiber. Retrieved June 4, 2020 from 
  14. USDA. Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2015 - 2020 Eighth Edition.
  15. German Society for Nutrition e. V. Calcium. Retrieved June 4, 2020 
  16. German Society for Nutrition e. V. Magnesium. Retrieved June 4, 2020
  17. German Society for Nutrition e. V. Iron. Retrieved June 4, 2020
  18. German Society for Nutrition e. V. Iodine. Retrieved June 4, 2020
  19. German Society for Nutrition e. V. (2018). Drink water - stay fit. 2 Drinking water - staying fit
  20. German Society for Nutrition e. V. DGE updates the reference values for sodium, chloride and potassium. Retrieved June 4, 2020 
  21. German Society for Nutrition e. V. Secondary plant substances and their effect on health - An update based on the 2012 Nutrition Report. DGEinfo (12/2014) S178-186.

Grundlagen der Ernährung - Gesund und ausgewogen

Du willst dich gesund ernähren, weißt aber nicht, was Begriffe wie Basale Stoffwechselrate und Omega 3 Fettsäuren überhaupt bedeuten? In unserem Ernährungsleitfaden bekommst du alle wichtigen Infos. Wir erklären dir alles, von Vitamin A bis Zucker.

Tisch mit verschiedenem Gemüse für eine ausgewogene Ernährung

Gesunde Ernährung liegt im Trend und das ist auch gut so. Schließlich ist unsere ausgewogene Ernährung maßgeblich an unserem Wohlbefinden beteiligt und wer möchte sich schon schlecht fühlen. Im Internet gibt es deshalb unzählige Quellen, die alle ihren Weg als den einzigen beanspruchen. Den einzig wahren Weg gibt es jedoch nicht.

Dieser Ernährungsleitfaden soll dabei helfen, die wichtigsten Begriffe zu klären, damit man sich selbst einen Überblick verschaffen kann. Hast du dich auch schon einmal gefragt: “Was sind überhaupt Kalorien?” “Ist Fett im Essen gleich Fett im Körper?” und “Welche Nährstoffe brauche ich wirklich?”

Dann lies weiter, wenn du die Grundlagen der gesunden Ernährung erfahren willst

Der Brennwert – Von Kilokalorien und Kilojoule

Auch wenn immer wieder gesagt wird, wie wichtig Vitamine, Proteine und Mineralien sind, die Nahrungsaufnahme dient zuallererst der Energiezufuhr. Denn ohne Energie aus der Nahrung fühlt man sich antriebslos und alles fällt schwer.

Im allgemeinen Sprachgebrauch wird die, in Nahrungsmitteln enthaltene, Energie in der Einheit Kalorien angegeben. In der Tat handelt es sich dabei jedoch um Kilokalorien, weswegen auf den Nährwerttabellen von Lebensmitteln auch kcal steht.

1 Kalorie ist dabei die Energie, die benötigt wird, um 1 Gramm Wasser um 1 Grad Celsius zu erwärmen. Bei einer Kilokalorie dementsprechend 1 Kilogramm Wasser. Durch unterschiedliche Definitionen ist diese Einheit allerdings ungenau.

Für eine genauere Definition wird der Energiegehalt eines Lebensmittels in Joule bzw. Kilojoule angegeben. Das ist die internationale Einheit der Energie. Ein Joule entspricht 0,239 cal und eine Kalorie entspricht 4,184 J. 

In vielen Nährwerttabellen steht neben der Angabe des Energiegehalts pro 100 g auch noch eine prozentuale Angabe. Diese bezieht sich auf einen täglichen Energiebedarf von 2000 kcal.[1]

Doch der tägliche Energiebedarf eines jeden Menschen ist unterschiedlich. Er ist unter anderem abhängig von der Größe, dem Alter, der Aktivität und dem Geschlecht. Nachfolgend eine Erklärung, wie er normalerweise berechnet wird.

Der Grundumsatz

Als Grundumsatz wird die Energie bezeichnet, die der Körper benötigt, um die wichtigsten Körperfunktionen auszuführen. Dazu gehören beispielsweise die Atmung, Regulierung der Körpertemperatur oder die Verdauung. Selbst wer den ganzen Tag im Bett liegen würde, würde Energie für diese Prozesse brauchen.

Sie wird in der Literatur oft auch als Basale Stoffwechselrate bezeichnet (englisch: Basal Metabolic Rate, BMR). Der Grundumsatz liegt ungefähr bei 4 kJ (1 kcal) pro Stunde und Kilogramm Körpergewicht.[2]

Der Leistungsumsatz

Hierunter fällt all die Energie, die durch tägliche Aktivitäten verbraucht wird. Beispielsweise Arbeit oder sportliche Aktivitäten. Je aktiver man ist, desto mehr Energie benötigt der Körper.

In Englisch wird sie Active Metabolic Rate genannt, abgekürzt AMR. Um den Leistungsumsatz zu berechnen wird der PAL (Physical Activity Level) Wert benötigt, welcher das körperliche Aktivitätsniveau widerspiegelt. Näheres zum PAL kannst du hier nachlesen.

Der Gesamtumsatz

Mit dem Grund- und Leistungsumsatz kann anschließend der Gesamtumsatz ermittelt werden, indem beide Werte addiert werden. Allerdings ist die genaue Berechnung des Grund- und Leistungsumsatzes etwas komplizierter, weshalb die Nutzung eines Online-Kalorienrechners empfohlen wird.

Anhand des Gesamtumsatzes lässt sich feststellen, wie viel Nahrung täglich benötigt wird. Um das Gewicht zu halten, bedarf es einer Deckung des Kalorienbedarfs. Besteht der Wunsch zum Gewichtsverlust, sollten weniger Kalorien als benötigt konsumiert werden, bei der Gewichtszunahme umgekehrt.

Als Faustregel gilt, dass 1 kg Körperfett ungefähr 9000 kcal entspricht[3]. Ist das Ziel ein Gewichtsverlust von 10 kg, dann ist es theoretisch mit einer verringerten Energieaufnahme von 500 kcal täglich nach einem halben Jahr erreicht.

Makronährstoffe

Als Makronährstoffe werden Nährstoffe bezeichnet, die dem Körper in hohen Mengen als Energielieferanten zugeführt werden müssen. Dazu zählen Fette, Proteine, Kohlenhydrate und Ballaststoffe.

Proteine/ Eiweiß

Es gibt wohl keinen Nährstoff, um den sich so viele Mythen ranken, wie um Proteine, umgangssprachlich auch Eiweiß genannt. Besonders wenn es um den Tagesbedarf geht, gibt es viele unterschiedliche Aussagen. Was also stimmt nun?

Fakt ist, Proteine sind für den Körper sehr wichtig. Sie dienen als Grundbausteine unserer Zellen und wirken als Enzyme. Außerdem werden sie für die Infektabwehr im Immunsystem gebraucht und transportieren wasserunlösliche Nährstoffe im Blut.[4]

Der Energiegehalt beträgt 4 kcal pro Gramm Eiweiß. Die Bausteine aus denen Proteine bestehen, heißen Aminosäuren, davon werden vom Körper insgesamt 20 für den Proteinaufbau benötigt. Allerdings sind nur neun für den Körper essentiell, da er sie nicht selbst herstellen kann.

Häufig wird auch eine Unterscheidung hinsichtlich vollständigen und unvollständigen Proteinquellen gemacht. Demzufolge liefern unvollständige Eiweißquellen nicht die 9 essentiellen Aminosäuren.

Bei einer genaueren Betrachtung des Proteingehalts verschiedener Nahrungsmittel lässt sich jedoch feststellen, dass fast alle Lebensmittel immer ein vollständiges Aminosäureprofil mit allen 9 essentiellen Aminosäuren aufweisen.[6,7]

Proteine sind maßgeblich am Muskelaufbau beteiligt. Genau das ist der Knackpunkt, der immer wieder zu unterschiedlichen Aussagen über den Proteinbedarf führt

Wie viel Protein brauche ich?

Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung empfiehlt als Tagesbedarf für einen normalen Erwachsenen 0,8 g Protein/ kg Körpergewicht.[8] Das entspricht ca. 60 g bei einem Körpergewicht von 75 kg.

Hobbysportler die Muskeln aufbauen möchten, haben einen höheren Proteinbedarf. Hier liegen die Empfehlungen von internationalen Organisationen bei 1,1 g - 1,4 g / kg Körpergewicht[9]. Das wären zwischen 90 und 105 g Proteinen bei 75 kg Körpergewicht.

Für Athleten und Profisportler liegen die Angaben noch einmal höher, ein eindeutiger wissenschaftlicher Konsens besteht jedoch nicht. Empfehlungen reichen von 1,6 g / kg Körpergewicht bis hin zu 2,2 g.[10, 11] Bei 75 kg Körpergewicht wären das 120 - 165 g Proteine. 

Fette

Fette sind für den Körper notwendig, denn sie sind Bestandteil von Zellmembranen und versorgen den Körper mit Energie. Zudem braucht der Körper die darin enthaltenen Fettsäuren. Fett ist zudem wichtig für die Versorgung des Körpers mit den fettlöslichen Vitaminen A, D, E und K.

Fett ist der Makronährstoff mit dem höchsten Energiegehalt von 9 kcal pro Gramm. Deswegen führt ein übermäßiger Fettkonsum auch schnell zu einer Gewichtszunahme.

Bei den Fettsäuren im Fett wird unterschieden zwischen gesättigten, ungesättigten und mehrfach ungesättigten Fettsäuren. Der Sättigungsgrad gibt an, wie viele Doppelbindungen zwischen den Kohlenstoffatomen des Moleküls vorhanden sind. Sind keine Doppelbindungen vorhanden, spricht man von einer gesättigten Fettsäure.

Einzig die mehrfach ungesättigten Fettsäuren sind für uns essentiell. Darunter Omega-6 und Omega-3. Sie unterstützen den Körper zum Beispiel bei Entzündungsprozessen oder beim Aufbau von Zellmembranen. Da der Körper sie nicht selbst herstellen kann, müssen sie über die Nahrung aufgenommen werden.

Da diese beiden Fettsäuren in vielen Aspekten als Gegenspieler agieren, sollte man bei der Ernährung auf ein adäquates Verhältnis der beiden achten. Empfehlungen reichen hier von 1:3 bis 1:6 (Omega 3:Omega 6).[12]

Kohlenhydrate

Kohlenhydrate gelten als die wichtigsten Energielieferanten im Körper. Sie haben einen Energiegehalt von 4 kcal pro Gramm und liegen somit gleich auf mit den Proteinen. Allerdings sollte in unserer Ernährung 50 % und mehr des Energiegehalts von Kohlenhydraten stammen.[13, 14]

Kohlenhydrate sind im Prinzip immer eine Aneinanderreihung von Zuckermolekülen und werden deshalb auch Saccharide genannt. Dabei unterscheidet man gemeinhin zwischen Mono-, Di-, und Polysacchariden. Damit der Körper Kohlenhydrate verwenden kann, müssen sie im Darm immer erst in Einfachzucker zerlegt werden.

Einfachzucker (Monosaccharide)

Die bekanntesten Vertreter hier sind Glucose (Traubenzucker) und Fructose (Fruchtzucker). Sie werden vom Körper schnell aufgenommen und stehen in kürzester Zeit als Energie zur Verfügung, erhöhen aber auch den Blutzucker schnell. Ihr Geschmack ist süß.

Zweifachzucker (Disaccharide)

Hierzu gehören Maltose (Malzzucker) und Lactose (Milchzucker). Auch sie schmecken süß. Der Körper braucht allerdings etwas länger, bis sie als Energie zur Verfügung stehen. Dadurch ist die Erhöhung des Blutzuckers etwas langsamer.

Mehrfachzucker (Polysaccharide)

Das wichtigste Polysaccharid ist die Stärke. Sie ist an sich eher geschmacklos und durch die höhere Kettenlänge, braucht der Körper länger für die Aufspaltung. Aus diesem Grund lassen Polysaccharide den Blutzucker nur langsam ansteigen.

Ballaststoffe - Ballaststoffreiche Ernährung ist wichtig für die Verdauung

Ballaststoffe sind unverdauliche Nahrungsbestandteile, die für die Verdauung eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Ihnen wird ein Energiegehalt von 2 kcal pro Gramm zugeordnet.

Sie werden unterteilt in wasserlösliche und wasserunlösliche Ballaststoffe. Wasserunlösliche Ballaststoffe nehmen wenig Wasser auf, werden von den Bakterien im Darm aber nicht abgebaut, wodurch sich das Stuhlvolumen stark erhöht.

Wasserlösliche Ballaststoffe hingegen binden viel Wasser und sie werden von den Bakterien im Dickdarm abgebaut. Dadurch wird der Stuhl weicher, nimmt aber dennoch an Volumen zu.

Einige wasserlösliche Ballaststoffe dienen zudem als Präbiotika. Das bedeutet, dass sie den Darmbakterien als Nahrung dienen und somit das Wachstum von förderlichen Bakterien im Darm anregen.

Mikronährstoffe

Mikronährstoffe sind essentiell für den Körper, allerdings werden sie in geringeren Mengen benötigt als Makronährstoffe und liefern dem Körper keine Energie. Zu den Mikronährstoffen zählen Vitamine und Mineralstoffe. 

Vitamine

Der Körper braucht Vitamine aus der Nahrung, da er sie selbst nicht herstellen kann. Die einzige Ausnahme ist Vitamin D, welches über die Haut synthetisiert werden kann. Sie spielen eine große Rolle für viele Körperfunktionen, beispielsweise dem Immunsystem oder der Energiegewinnung. 

Vitamine sind häufig sehr anfällig für bestimmte Zubereitungsmethoden. So können zu hohe Temperaturen das Vitamin C in der Nahrung zerstören. Sie werden unterteilt in wasser- und fettlösliche Vitamine.

Wasserlösliche Vitamine

  • Vitamin B1
  • Vitamin B2
  • Vitamin B3
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Biotin
  • Folsäure
  • Vitamin C

Sie können vom Körper immer gut aufgenommen werden und ein Überschuss an ihnen wird einfach über die Nieren ausgeschieden. 

Fettlösliche Vitamine

  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin D
  • Vitamin E
  • Vitamin K

Ihre Absorption im Darm ist verbessert, wenn sie mit fetthaltiger Nahrung aufgenommen werden. Ein Überschuss an ihnen wird nicht einfach vom Körper ausgeschieden. Viel eher lagern sie sich an, weshalb gerade bei einer Nahrungsergänzung mit diesen Vitaminen Vorsicht geboten ist.

Mineralstoffe

Ebenso wie Vitamine kann der Körper Mineralstoffe nicht selbst herstellen. Mineralstoffe sind im Gegensatz zu Vitaminen allerdings weniger anfällig dafür, durch die Zubereitung zerstört zu werden. Mineralstoffe werden beispielsweise für den Knochenaufbau oder die Blutbildung benötigt.

Sie werden aufgeteilt in Mengen- und Spurenelemente. Dies ist abhängig davon, wie hoch der Tagesbedarf des jeweiligen Nährstoffs ist.

Mengenelemente

  • Calcium
  • Magnesium
  • Chlor
  • Kalium
  • Phosphor
  • Natrium
  • Schwefel

Sie werden vom Körper in relativ hohen Mengen benötigt, im drei- bis vierstelligen Milligrammbereich. So beträgt der Tagesbedarf an Kalzium 900 - 1000 mg[15], der von Magnesium 300 - 400 mg.[16]

Spurenelemente

  • Zink
  • Eisen
  • Jod
  • Mangan
  • Selen
  • Chrom
  • Kupfer
  • Molybdän
  • Cobalt
  • Silicium

Der Tagesbedarf lässt sich bei Spurenelementen bereits durch eine Dosis im zweistelligen Milligramm-, oder sogar Mikrogrammbereich decken. Die tägliche Empfehlung für Eisen beträgt 10 - 15 mg[17], für Jod sogar nur 180 - 200 µg.[18]

Wasser

Wasser ist für das Leben unerlässlich, ein Leben ohne nicht vorstellbar. Es heißt, der Mensch kommt drei Wochen ohne Nahrung aus, aber nur drei Tage ohne Wasser. Und doch wird in vielen Ernährungsratgebern immer nur vom Essen geredet.

Dabei ist Wasser der wichtigste “Nährstoff”. Zwar ist es kein Nährstoff im eigentlichen Sinne, aber für fast alle Körperfunktionen essentiell. Einige der Funktionen für die der Körper Wasser braucht sind:

  • Körpertemperatur aufrechterhalten
  • Körperfett verbrennen
  • Verdauungshelfer
  • Schmiert Gelenke und bettet Organe ein
  • Nährstofftransport
  • Giftausscheidung

Der tägliche Wasserbedarf eines Erwachsenen beträgt rund 1,5 Liter[19]. Diese sollten über den Tag verteilt zu einem genommen werden, um den Körper vor Wassermangel zu schützen. All diejenigen, die wenig Durst verspüren, sollten besonders darauf achten, das einzuhalten.

Unter bestimmten Umständen hat der Körper allerdings einen erhöhten Wasserbedarf. Beispielsweise bei großer Hitze, extremer Kälte oder Krankheiten wie Fieber, Erbrechen oder Durchfall. Auch anstrengende Arbeit oder Sport können den Flüssigkeitsbedarf erhöhen. 

Dann kann es sein, dass zusätzlich 0,5 - 1 L Wasser pro Stunde notwendig sind. Zu viel getrunkenes Wasser wird bei gesunden Menschen über die Nieren wieder ausgeschieden und verursacht keine Schäden.

Du bist kein Wassertrinker? Auch ungesüßte Früchte- und Kräutertees, aromatisiertes Wasser oder verdünnte Saftschorlen (1:3) sind geeignet, um den Wasserverlust des Körpers auszugleichen.

Die allgemeinen Grundlagen der gesunden Ernährung

  • Nur mit einer abwechslungsreichen Ernährung bekommt dein Körper alle Vitamine und Mineralien (Mikronährstoffe).
  • Der Tagesbedarf an Protein für einen normalen Erwachsenen liegt bei 0,8 g Protein/ kg Körpergewicht und bei Hobbysportler zwischen 90 und 105 g bei 75 kg.
  • Es gibt nicht den einen richtigen Weg in der Ernährung. Aber es gibt den richtigen für dich.
  • Trinke täglich mindestens 1,5 L Wasser oder ungesüßte Getränke, um deinen Körper mit genügend Flüssigkeit zu versorgen

FAQ – Häufig gestellte Fragen zu den Grundlagen der Ernährung