Contents
1 What is a prepper?
The current situation
2 What important things do you need for prepping?
Prepper food that you should always have at home First-aid kit - first-aid kit and necessary medication should not be missing when prepping Hygiene articles - soap and toothpaste reduce pathogens and bad moods Light & electricity - candles, lamps and camping stoves bring light into the dark and heat food Documents - family documents, certificates and contracts provide proof of identity and existence
3 How do you build up a stock of prepper food?
4 What should you look out for when choosing food?
Shelf life - A long shelf life of at least 6 months saves administrative effort Space - Prefer foods that provide a lot of energy and nutritional value for their size Taste - Prepper food should taste good, think fruit, snacks and chocolate
5 The government's recommendations for prepping
6 Preparation is half the battle

Our grandparents knew how important it is to have supplies. If the basic necessities are no longer available, they ensure that you don't starve and die of thirst. Even the German government has been issuing recommendations on crisis preparedness for years. But how do you choose the right prepper food?

In this article, you will find out how to choose the right prepper foods for a crisis-proof stockpile. So that you can protect yourself and your family from the worst in the event of a pandemic.

What is a prepper?

The term prepper is derived from the English word to prepare, which means to prepare means to prepare. It's about being prepared. Prepared for what? For an emergency or a catastrophe that may occur and restrict your life for a certain period of time.

The degree to which prepping is practiced is individual. Some preppers prepare for the end of the world with a six-month supply of food and NBC masks. Is this really necessary?

A far more realistic scenario is to prepare for no food for a few daysas the supermarkets cannot be supplied or you are snowed in. If you are a prepper food, you can bridge the gap for 10 to 14 daysuntil shopping is possible again.

The current situation

Just how unexpected a situation like this can arise can be seen from the current circumstances. Quarantine measures for containment mean that many truck drivers can no longer go to work.

Although it was managed well during the current crisis and there were no supply bottlenecks (except for toilet paper), things could undoubtedly have turned out differently. An example from 2019 shows this.

There was heavy snowfall in East Tyrol, which cut off villages and valleys from the outside world.1 Food supplies became particularly scarce in the Virgen Valley. Food was therefore distributed by helicopter2

Those who had stockpiled food here for crisis preparedness were able to avoid existential fears.

My tip: Wholesome foods are also a good choice, such as drinks and powders from SATURO. They contain all three macronutrients in an ideal distribution and completely cover the energy, vitamin and mineral requirements. Thanks to their long shelf life of up to one year, they are the ideal prepper food.

What important things do you need for prepping?

The most important thing about an emergency supply is that it covers all essential items. Particular attention should be paid to food and drink. However, documents, hygiene articles and medicine are also essential in an emergency.

Prepper food that you should always have at home

The prepper food list only includes Foodstuffsthat have a long shelf life and which one likes to eat. It's no use buying rows of canned green beans if you can't get them down in an emergency.

When choosing, make sure that all three macronutrients - carbohydrates, proteins and fats - are covered. It is also important to ensure that energy requirements are adequately covered. For this, a daily calorie requirement of 2000 kcal per day per person should be taken as a basis.3

A combination of the following is recommended for emergency food supplies:

  • Carbohydrate-rich cereal products such as pasta, potatoes and rice 
  • Protein-rich foods such as pulses, seitan, dried meat or whole egg powder
  • Fatty foods such as nuts and oils

Canned fruit and vegetables, chocolate, jam and other foods are good for adding variety to your diet.

Don't forget to stock up on water! We recommend 14 liters per person per week. For a family of four that wants to stock up for 2 weeks, that means 112 liters of water.

First-aid kit - first-aid kit and necessary medication should not be missing when prepping

A first-aid kit is generally a good idea for treating minor injuries. This includes bandages such as plasters, triangular cloths and gauze bandages. Likewise thermometer and tweezers and medicines part of the medicine cabinet.

This includes medicines prescribed by a doctor as well as freely available remedies. For example, medicine for diarrhea and nausea as well as painkillers and antipyretics. Don't forget wound and skin disinfectants!

Hygiene products - soap and toothpaste reduce pathogens and bad moods

Regular hygiene is important to keep pathogens to a minimum. Social interaction would also suffer if hygiene was avoided. That's why there should always be enough toothpaste, soap, detergent and toilet paper in the house.

In the event that the water supply fails, also include Gloves and kitchen roll are also part of the emergency kit.

Light & power - candles, lamps and camping stoves bring light into the dark and heat food

In a crisis, it's not unheard of for the power to go out (temporarily). Without a backup plan, you will quickly find yourself in the dark with no way to prepare your food. Therefore, get Tea lights, candles, flashlights and spare batteries.

For the preparation of food, a camping stove is completely sufficient. With a few extra cartridges, this will easily suffice for the recommended prepper food. A Gas heater with large gas cylinder also provides warmth.

Documents - family documents, certificates and contracts provide proof of identity and existence

If the worst comes to the worst and you have to leave the house, you need to have your documents to hand. This ensures that you can prove your identity.

Birth, marriage and death certificates must as original A certified copy is sufficient for contracts, certificates and income statements. Land register extracts, passports, ID cards and driving licenses are sufficient as simple copies, as they are stored centrally and can be retrieved by the authorities.

How do you build up a stock of prepper food?

When putting together emergency rations for your home, you should first make a list of how much of which food you need. This makes shopping easier, as it enables a systematic approach.

A good way to avoid hoarding is to buy everything bit by bit. Simply buy an extra tin every time you go shopping. This way, the prepper cellar fills up slowly but steadily.

Online shopping is also an excellent way to stock up on food. Especially complete meals such as SATURO can be conveniently ordered online.

Doing the shopping when there is no crisis situation. If the emergency has already arrived, you are no longer alone with the idea of "preparedness" and there is a high probability that certain items are already sold out.

What should you look out for when choosing food?

Shelf life - Long shelf life of at least 6 months saves administrative effort

Food stocks should be created when they are not needed. A long shelf life is therefore essential. Everything from 6 months in the future is suitablelonger best-before dates are preferable.

The longer the shelf life of the food, the less often you have to go through the Prepper food and possibly sort it out. This saves a lot of effort. The advantage of SATURO is clearly the long shelf life of three to 12 months.

A tip for labeling: The best-before dates of the food can be easily marked with insulating tape and a sharpie. This eliminates the need to turn over each individual can just to read the best-before date.

When eating and refilling, the first in - first out principle should be applied. should be applied. Replenishment (with a later best-before date) is stacked towards the back and food with an approaching best-before date is eaten first.

Place - Give preference to foods that provide a lot of energy and nutritional value for their size

Food for 2 weeks for one person can be stored in the smallest apartment. A family needs more space. Priority is therefore given to Food that provides as much energy and nutrients as possible for its size.

This could be rice, canned bread or dried meat. Powders that can be used to make complete meals are also suitable. However, Asian noodles in a bag or 5-minute terrines are not on the prepper list of foods.

Taste - Prepper foods should taste good, think fruit, snacks and chocolate

As mentioned at the beginning, emergency provisions should taste good. Of course it is possible to eat only flour and honey, but stress factors must be avoided as much as possible, especially in crisis situations.

Therefore, make sure you have a wide range of products in stock. If you store canned fruit, chocolate, sweets or other snacks in addition to your basic food supplies, this will keep morale high. 

My tip: With the liquid food, shakes or energy bars from SATURO you have crisis-proof food that provides you with everything you need, tastes good and has a long shelf life.

The government's recommendations for prepping

Description Description
Foodstuffs 3.5 kg cereal products, potatoes and rice
4.0 kg vegetables and pulses
2.5 kg fruit and nuts
2.6 kg milk and dairy products
1.5 kg meat, fish, whole egg powder
approx. 350 g fats and oils
20 liters of water
If required, chocolate, sweets, ready meals, jam, etc.
Medicine chest Medication from the doctor
First aid kit
Skin and wound disinfectant
Remedies for pain, nausea, sunburn and insect bites
Clinical thermometer
Tweezers
Hygiene articles Soap and detergent
Toothbrush and toothpaste
Toilet and household paper
bin liners
Disposable crockery and cutlery
Hand sanitizer
Light & electricity Candles and tea lights
Lamps and batteries
Gas stoves and gas cartridges
Gas heaters
documents Originals: birth, marriage and death certificate
Originals / certified copies: certificates, contracts, income statements
Single copy: passport, identity cards, driver's license, land register excerpt

Preparation is half the battle

Don't want to have to worry about your food supplies in a crisis situation? Then plan ahead! Prepper food for your emergency supplies should have a long shelf life, be healthy and tasty.

Stock up on food for 10 - 14 days and you'll be prepared for most situations. After all, a prepper stockpile should only be used for short-term bridging. 

FAQs: Questions about prepper food

Which foods have a long shelf life?

Basically processed foods such as white rice, white flour and industrial sugar have a long shelf life. Likewise, canned foods generally have a shelf life of several years. The same applies to whole egg or milk powder and dried meat.

A good addition is also Astronaut food like SATURO. It is designed for a long shelf life and optimum nutrient supply and thus combines the most important requirements for prepper food.

How long should the stock last?

How long your stock should last depends primarily on your need for safety. The official recommendations are 10 to 14 days. For most likely scenarios, this is sufficient to bridge the bottlenecks.

Is there any non-perishable food?

Sugar and salt are non-perishable foodstuffs5As they contain no unbound water, they do not provide a breeding ground for bacteria and fungi. Two other foods which, if handled correctly, are stored almost forever can be kept almost forever are Rice and honey.

Collapsible content

Sources

  1. Austrian Broadcasting Corporation Virgental: Food is becoming scarce. Retrieved August 7, 2020 from
  2. Dolomitenstadt.at Online MPREIS magazine in Prägraten has groceries again from today. Retrieved August 7, 2020 from
  3. Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V. (October 2007) Statement of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung e. V. on the application of "Guideline Daily Amounts" (GDA) in the voluntary labeling of processed foods 
  4. Federal Office of Civil Protection and Disaster Assistance (December 2018), Guide to emergency preparedness and correct action in emergency situations
  5. WDR Can sugar go bad? Retrieved August 7, 2020 from

Joerg Hauke Gründer von Saturo

Max Müller
Ernährungsberater

Prepper mit Maske Supermarkt Nudeln

Die besten Prepper Lebensmittel für den Notfall

Unsere Großeltern wussten, wie wichtig es ist, Vorräte zu haben. Wenn die Versorgung mit dem Nötigsten einmal nicht mehr gegeben ist, sorgen sie dafür, dass man nicht verhungert und verdurstet. Selbst die Bundesregierung gibt seit Jahren Empfehlungen zur Krisenvorsorge. Doch wie wählt man die richtigen Prepper Lebensmittel aus?

In diesem Artikel erfährst du, wie man die richtigen Prepper Lebensmittel für einen krisenfesten Vorrat auswählt. Damit du im Falle einer Pandemie dich und deine Familie vor dem Schlimmsten bewahren kannst.

1. Was ist ein Prepper?

Der Begriff Prepper leitet sich vom Englischen to prepare ab, was sich vorbereiten bedeutet. Es geht darum, vorbereitet zu sein. Vorbereitet auf was? Auf einen Notfall oder eine Katastrophe, die unter Umständen eintritt und das Leben für eine gewisse Zeit einschränkt.

Der Grad, zu welchem das Preppen ausgelebt wird, ist dabei individuell. Einige Prepper bereiten sich auf den Untergang der Welt vor, mit einem Nahrungsmittelvorrat der ein halbes Jahr reicht und ABC-Schutzmasken. Ist das wirklich notwendig?

Eine weitaus realistischeres Szenario ist, dass man für einige Tage keine Nahrungsmittel bekommt, da die Supermärkte nicht beliefert werden können oder man eingeschneit ist. Hat man nun als Prepper haltbare Lebensmittel, können 10 bis 14 Tage überbrückt werden, bis ein Einkauf wieder möglich ist.

Die aktuelle Situation

Wie unerwartet sich so eine Situation ergeben kann, lässt sich an den aktuellen Umständen erkennen. Quarantänemaßnahmen zur Eindämmung führen dazu, dass viele Lkw-Fahrer nicht mehr zur Arbeit gehen können.

Zwar wurde es in der aktuellen Krise gut gemanagt und Versorgungsengpässe kamen nicht vor (bis auf Klopapier), doch es hätte zweifellos anders ausgehen können. Das zeigt ein Beispiel aus 2019.

Dort kam es in Osttirol zu starken Schneefällen, wodurch Orte und Täler von der Außenwelt abgeschnitten waren.[1] Besonders im Virgental wurde die Versorgung mit Nahrungsmitteln knapp. Mit Hubschraubern wurden deshalb Lebensmittel verteilt.[2]

Wer sich hier für die Krisenvorsorge Lebensmittel gelagert hatte, konnte existenzielle Ängste vermeiden.

2. Welche wichtigen Sachen braucht man zum Preppen?

Das Wichtigste bei einem Notfallvorrat ist, dass er alle essenziell benötigten Gegenstände abdeckt. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt hier auf Nahrung und Trinken. Allerdings sind auch Dokumente, Hygieneartikel und Medizin im Ernstfall unverzichtbar.

Prepper Lebensmittel, die man immer Zuhause haben sollte

Auf die Prepper Lebensmittel Liste gehören nur Nahrungsmittel, die lange haltbar sind und welche man gerne verzehrt. Es nützt nichts, wenn man reihenweise grüne Bohnen als Konserven kauft, diese aber im Notfall nicht runter bekommt.

Bei der Auswahl darauf achten werden, dass alle drei Makronährstoffe Kohlenhydrate, Proteine und Fette abgedeckt sind. Außerdem muss für die adäquate Deckung des Energiebedarfs gesorgt werden. Dafür einen täglichen Kalorienbedarf von 2000 kcal pro Tag pro Person zugrunde legen.[3]

Für die Lebensmittel für den Notvorrat empfiehlt sich eine Kombination aus:

  • Kohlenhydratreichen Getreideprodukten wie Nudeln, Kartoffeln und Reis 
  • Proteinhaltigen Lebensmitteln wie Hülsenfrüchten, Seitan, Trockenfleisch oder Volleipulver
  • Fettigen Lebensmitteln wie Nüsse und Öle

Dosenobst und -gemüse, Schokolade, Marmelade und weitere Lebensmittel sind gut geeignet, um Abwechslung auf den Speiseplan zu bringen.

Eine gute Wahl sind auch vollwertige Nahrungsmittel wie die Getränke und Pulver von SATURO. Sie enthalten alle drei Makronährstoffe in einer idealen Verteilung und decken vollständig den Energie-, Vitamin- und Mineralstoffbedarf.

Durch die lange Haltbarkeit von bis zu einem Jahr sind sie dadurch das ideale Prepper Lebensmittel. Schon jetzt gibt es zahlreiche Menschen, die Mahlzeiten durch SATURO ersetzen und sich so unkompliziert gesund ernähren.

Wasser darf beim Vorrat nicht vergessen werden! Pro Person werden 14 Liter pro Woche empfohlen. Bei einer vierköpfigen Familie, die sich für 2 Wochen versorgen will, bedeutet das 112 Liter Wasser.

Hausapotheke – Erste-Hilfe-Set und notwendige Medikamente sollten beim Preppen nicht fehlen

Eine Hausapotheke ist generell eine gute Idee, um kleine Verletzungen zu versorgen. Hierzu gehört Verbandszeug wie Pflaster, Dreiecktuch und Mullbinde. Ebenso sind Thermometer und Pinzette sowie Medikamente Teil der Hausapotheke.

Dazu zählen vom Arzt verschriebene Medikamente, genauso wie frei erhältliche Mittel. Zum Beispiel Medizin gegen Durchfall und Übelkeit sowie Schmerztabletten und fiebersenkende Mittel. Das Wund- und Hautdesinfektionsmittel nicht vergessen!

Hygieneartikel – Seife und Zahnpasta reduziert Krankheitserreger und schlechte Laune

Regelmäßige Hygiene zu betreiben ist wichtig, um Krankheitserreger auf einem Minimum zu halten. Das Miteinander würde ebenfalls unter einer Vermeidung von Hygiene leiden. Deswegen sollte immer ausreichend Zahnpasta, Seife, Waschmittel und Toilettenpapier im Haus sein.

Für den Fall, dass die Wasserversorgung ausfällt, gehören zudem Handschuhe und Küchenrollen zum Notfallpaket.

Licht & Strom – Kerzen, Lampen und Campingkocher bringen Licht ins Dunkel und erhitzen Essen

In einer Krise ist es nicht abwegig, dass der Strom (zeitweise) ausfällt. Ohne Backup Plan sitzt du dann schnell im Dunklen ohne Möglichkeit, dein Essen zuzubereiten. Besorge deshalb Teelichter, Kerzen, Taschenlampen und Ersatzbatterien.

Für die Zubereitung von Speisen ist ein Campingkocher völlig ausreichend. Mit ein paar extra Kartuschen reicht dies ohne Probleme für die empfohlene Prepper Nahrung aus. Ein Gasheizstrahler mit großer Gasflasche spendet außerdem Wärme.

Dokumente – Familienurkunden, Zeugnisse und Verträge ermöglichen Nachweis der Identität und Existenz

Ist der Ernstfall gekommen und man muss das Haus verlassen, müssen die Dokumente griffbereit sein. Dadurch wird der Nachweis der eigenen Identität und Existenz gewährleistet.

Geburts-, Heirats- und Sterbeurkunden müssen als Original mitgeführt werden, bei Verträgen, Zeugnissen und Einkommensbescheiden reicht eine beglaubigte Kopie. Grundbuchauszüge, Reisepass, Ausweis und Führerschein genügen als einfache Kopie, denn sie sind zentral gespeichert und von Behörden abrufbar.

3. Wie baut man einen Vorrat an Prepper Lebensmitteln auf?

Beim Zusammenstellen der Notration für Zuhause sollte man sich zuerst eine Liste erstellen, wie viel man von welchem Nahrungsmittel braucht. Das erleichtert den Einkauf, denn dadurch ist eine systematische Vorgehensweise möglich.

Eine gute Herangehensweise, um Hamsterkäufe zu vermeiden, ist es, alles nach und nach einzukaufen. Einfach bei jedem Einkauf eine Konserve zusätzlich kaufen. So füllt sich der Prepper Keller langsam aber stetig.

Online-Shopping eignet sich ebenso hervorragend dafür, den Nahrungsmittelvorrat aufzustocken. Gerade Komplettmahlzeiten wie SATURO lassen sich bequem online bestellen.

Den Einkauf erledigen, wenn keine Krisensituation herrscht. Ist der Notfall bereits eingetroffen, ist man mit der Idee der “Vorsorge” nicht mehr allein und die Wahrscheinlichkeit hoch, dass gewisse Dinge bereits ausverkauft sind.

Prepper Vorrat

4. Worauf sollte man bei der Auswahl der Lebensmittel achten?

Haltbarkeit – Lange Haltbarkeit von mindestens 6 Monaten erspart Verwaltungsaufwand

Der Nahrungsmittelvorrat sollte dann erstellt werden, wenn er nicht benötigt wird. Deswegen ist eine lange Haltbarkeit unabdingbar. Alles ab 6 Monaten in der Zukunft eignet sich, längere Mindesthaltbarkeitsdaten sind zu bevorzugen.

Umso länger die Haltbarkeit des Lebensmittels, desto seltener muss man die Prepper Lebensmittel durchgehen und eventuell aussortieren. Dies erspart viel Aufwand. Der Vorteil von SATURO liegt hier klar in der langen Haltbarkeit von bis zu 12 Monaten.

Ein Tipp zur Kennzeichnung: Mit Isolierband und Edding lassen sich die Haltbarkeitsdaten der Lebensmittel leicht erkennbar anbringen. Dadurch entfällt das Umdrehen jeder einzelnen Dose, nur um das MHD abzulesen.

Beim Verzehr und Auffüllen sollte das First In – First Out Prinzip angewendet werden. Dabei wird Nachschub (mit späterem MHD) nach hinten gestapelt und Lebensmittel mit nahendem Mindesthaltbarkeitsdatum zuerst gegessen.

Platz – Bevorzuge Lebensmittel, die für ihre Größe viel Energie und Nährwert liefern

Lebensmittel für 2 Wochen für eine Person lassen sich in der kleinsten Wohnung unterbringen. Bei einer Familie ist der Platzbedarf größer. Vorrang haben deshalb Lebensmittel, die für ihre Größe möglichst viel Energie und Nährstoffe liefern.

Dies können Reis, Dosenbrot oder Trockenfleisch sein. Pulver, aus denen sich vollwertige Mahlzeiten herstellen lassen sind ebenso geeignet. Was es jedoch nicht auf die Prepper Liste der Lebensmittel schafft sind Asianudeln in der Tüte oder 5 Minuten Terrinen.

Geschmack – Prepper Lebensmittel sollten schmecken, denke an Obst, Snacks und Schokolade

Wie eingangs erwähnt, sollte Notproviant schmecken. Klar ist es möglich, sich nur von Mehl und Honig zu ernähren, doch gerade in Krisensituationen müssen Stressfaktoren bestmöglich vermieden werden.

Achte deshalb auf eine breite Produktpalette, die du einlagerst. Wenn du zusätzlich zum Grundnahrungsmittel Vorrat noch Dosenobst, Schokolade, Süßigkeiten oder sonstige Snacks unterbringst, hält das die Moral hoch. 

5. Die Empfehlungen der Regierung zum Preppen[4]

Das Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenhilfe hat einen Ratgeber für die Notfallvorsorge inklusive Checkliste zusammengestellt. Nachfolgend unsere übersichtliche Darstellung der wichtigsten Punkte für einen 10-tägigen Vorrat:

BezeichnungBeschreibung
Nahrungsmittel3,5 kg Getreideprodukte, Kartoffeln und Reis
4,0 kg Gemüse und Hülsenfrüchte
2,5 kg Obst und Nüsse
2,6 kg Milch und Milchprodukte
1,5 kg Fleisch, Fisch, Volleipulver
ca. 350 g Fette und Öle
20 L Wasser
Bei Bedarf Schokolade, Süßigkeiten, Fertiggerichte, Marmelade etc.
HausapothekeMedikamente vom Arzt
Verbandskasten
Haut- und Wunddesinfektionsmittel
Mittel gegen Schmerzen, Übelkeit, Sonnenbrand und Insektenstiche
Fieberthermometer
Pinzette
HygieneartikelSeife und Waschmittel
Zahnbürste und Zahnpasta
Toiletten- und Haushaltspapier
Müllbeutel
Einweggeschirr und -besteck
Handdesinfektionsmittel
Licht & StromKerzen und Teelichter
Lampen und Batterien
Gaskocher und Gaskartuschen
Gasheizer
DokumenteOriginale: Geburts-, Heirats- und Sterbeurkunde
Originale / Beglaubigte Kopie: Zeugnisse, Verträge, Einkommensbescheide
Einfache Kopie: Reisepass, Ausweise, Führerschein, Grundbuchauszug

Die Checkliste kann für eine einfache Vorbereitung des Notvorrats hier heruntergeladen werden.

6. Vorbereitung ist die halbe Miete

Möchtest du dir auch in Krisensituationen keine Gedanken um deine Lebensmittelversorgung machen müssen? Dann plane voraus! Prepper Lebensmittel für deinen Notvorrat sollten lange haltbar, gesund und schmackhaft sein.

Stocke Lebensmittel für 10 - 14 Tage auf und du bist für die meisten Fälle gewappnet. Ein Prepper Vorrat soll schließlich nur der kurzzeitigen Überbrückung dienen. 

Du suchst nach einer simplen Lösung? 

Mit der Flüssignahrung, Mahlzeitenersatzpulver oder Energieriegel von SATURO hast du krisensichere Nahrung, die dich mit allem versorgt, gut schmeckt und lange haltbar ist.

FAQ: Häufig gestellte Fragen zu Prepper Lebensmitteln